Artist’s Statement.Dragon’s Head

January 10, 2008 at 5:08 pm | Posted in Colour Pencil, Coursework, Writings | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

From my Sketchbook:

Dragon's Head“I am deeply fascinated by the human creativity in creating fiction and fantasy. Mythology and Legends are exemplary examples of the human creativity that had outlasted the erosion of time. However, these fantastic creatures and tales are gravely endangered by rapid modernisation and scientific eradication. Humans lose their gift of imagination slowly to maturity as they age, although somehow we are still fascinated by stories of mythical creatures and mysterious beings. There is an undeniable attraction within this conceived world that inspires us and allows us to detach ourselves from reality. I wish to encompass this magic into my artwork . I aim to create this fantasy through visual art, and spark the imaginative child in others.”

-Xin Yan

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. XINYAN YOUR DRAGON IS SO COOL!!! omg the shading the shading the SHADINGGGGGGGG!!!
    (btw, when i leave comments, are they supposed to be constructive and intelligent? I honestly can’t be bothered)

  2. oooh I am not the first one to comment. Nvm. I shall take spot number 2!!

    Nevertheless, yes Huikin, they are supposed to be constructive and intelligent. Key words – supposed to be. ‘Tis a great dragon you got there! I like the colour (although I’m sure the original is much nicer) and the eye especially.
    ^ ^ looks very fierce.

    ‘Humans lose their gift of imagination slowly to maturity as they age’ – honestly thinking, I feel we don’t actually lose our gift of imagination, rather it is still there, but fear which we have developed hinders it from showing.. just my p.o.v
    great work!

    -sam

  3. That’s a great idea, Sam! Come to think of it, it’s true. It is not that we lose our imagination as we get older, but then it is the fear of deviating from our role as an adult that impedes our imagination from going far.

  4. hi! i like your dragon is beautifull and i like this fantastic creatures!! this creativity is really fascinating You´re right, now we must use it because like you write there our imagination begins lower, so now is the time to create with our minds ^^!!

  5. nice pic i am going to try to drow it

  6. You are very imaginative throughout writing and artwork. I like your art, it inspires me to sketch out mythical creatures, and believe in them for a while.

  7. That is a beautiful drawing! I hope to see more like it.

  8. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my website!I
    suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

